Northeast Philadelphia DUI Attorney
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Pennsylvania is a serious criminal offense. Unlike some other states, Pennsylvania treats DUI cases as criminal offenses, punishable by jail time, license suspension, and onerous costs and fines.
Because DUI cases are treated as crimes, when you are arrested for DUI, your information is placed in the National Crime Information Center (NCIC). Placement in NCIC means that any officer, court, employer, or other person conducting a background check can see that you were arrested for DUI.
Attorney in Northeast Philadelphia for DUI
Pennsylvania operates under a tiered system for DUI's. This means that, as your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) goes up, so do the penalties. The tiered system also entails that your penalties increase if you have multiple offenses.
If your BAC is .08% to .10%, or you are driving your vehicle while impaired to a degree where you cannot operate your vehicle safely, you are facing a minimum of 6 months probation and a $300 fine on your first offense. On a second offense, you face a mandatory 5-day to 6-month prison sentence, and a fine of $300 to $2,500. A third offense, and you are looking at 10 days to 24 months in prison with a $500 to $5,000 fine. Each of these offenses is graded as a misdemeanor (crime). You may also receive probation on top of the time listed above.
If your BAC is .10% to .159%, you face a mandatory minimum sentence of 48 hours to 6 months and a $500 to $5,000 fine on a first offense. On a second offense, you face 30 days to 6 months, and a $750 to $5,000 fine and on a third offense, you face 90 days to 5 years and a $1,500 to $10,000 fine. There may also be probation added to the end of these figures, at the discretion of the District Attorney and/or the judge in the case.
If your BAC is .16% or higher, or you have a controlled substance, such as marijuana, Percocet, cocaine, or heroin in your system, you are facing a mandatory minimum of 72 hours to 6 months on a first offense, with a fine of $1,000 to $5,000. On a second offense, you can be sentenced to a mandatory minimum of 90 days to 5 years with a $1,500 minimum fine, and a third offense 1 to 5 years in state prison with a $2,500.00 minimum fine. Depending on the charges on which you are convicted, there may also be a probation added to the end of these figures, at the discretion of the District Attorney and/or the judge in the case.
DUI Attorney Northeast Philadelphia
You should consult a laywer as soon as you receive your charges. As you can see, the Penalties for DUI are severe, and may include jail time. There are alternatives to jail. Some alternatives include: acceptance into the Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition Program (ARD), DUI Court (in some jurisdictions), house arrest, and inpatient treatment.
An experienced DUI Attorney will be able to advocate on your behalf so that you have the best chance of not going to jail. The attorneys at The Law Offices of Greg Prosmushkin, P.C. have decades of experience in handling DUI cases, and are in the best position to advocate for your freedom. Call us today for a free consultation.
This content was written on behalf of Greg Prosmushkin.